First Ever CNC Build, Help wanted

Thread: First Ever CNC Build, Help wanted

Downloads
    Uploads

Default First Ever CNC Build, Help wanted

Hello Everyone,

I'm a High School student here in Pennsylvania and for a while now I have wanted to build my own CNC machine but I didn't have the know-how or funds to do it. However after doing a lot of research I have learned a lot and gathered up some money to start to build my own machine. Here is what I had in mind:

My main goal for this machine is to be able to mill PCB's and soft metals (Aluminum, copper, brass etc.). After looking around I found that there are a lot of plans to make your own online and they have definitely given me a place to start. I want to make the main frame of my machine out of 3030 extruded Aluminum profiles and 0.25” aluminum plates since they are cheap and come in every length imaginable. For the motion system I want to use either Nema 24 or 23 Stepper motors and ball screws so that I can obtain the highest accuracy and repeatability possible. I also want to use linear rails rather than linear bearing rails (the round ones). For the motor I am planning on using a 3000W water cooled BLDC motor from hobby king and then coupling it to the shaft of the spindle using a belt and pulley so that I can get a max RPM of at least 40,000 RPM. For controlling this whole mess I'll probably just use the classic Chinese CNC controllers since they are super easy to use and they support the ubiquitous Step direction interface.

For the frame I'm thinking of just using a normal Cartesian design since it is the easiest to make and provides good stability and there are plenty of examples out there. For the final build I want a working area of at least 12x16 inches with a Z height of 3in. The motor carriage is gonna be pretty big due to the way I’m mounting it so I’ll need to make the frame at least 6 inches larger on X and Y.

I do have a few questions: