Help Needed Please

Thread: Help Needed Please

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Help Needed Please

Hi Guys, I am new to this.

Well I am a Software engineer and a hobbyist. I create RC parts for cars and planes. And I also want to create artistic parts for home use and decoration as a side business.

So I decided to get my own CNC machine for this a side business. I am looking for a relatively small size one that I don't want to pay the arm and the leg for it

I went through plenty of Youtube videos for different machines and honestly speaking I really can't tell the difference. I need help and advice form a PRO that can help me choosing the right machine. Useful notes:
    1- I am not planning to CNC items longer that 500mm and wider than 300mm.
    2- Most of the items that I will Mill are (Aluminum not more than 3mm thickness, Carbon Fiber, Fiber Glass, ABS plastic and wood).
    3- Also interested in Laser burning for drawing on wood.
    4- Maximum number of parts that I will CNC in a month will not be more than 30 items.

Your help is much apprecaited.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Help Needed Please

Buy a machine AFTER you understand CAD / CNC and can generate Gcode.

I always recommend that one gets the object desired / product designed, models built gcode completed
    Then go looking for a machine shop to run your data.

The CNC machine is like a CD player, it runs your music/.parts, After it is defined.
    (Seriously From 50years experience in this business).
    Never owned just rented machines and operators.

Downloads
    Uploads

It sounds like you'll need several machines, not just one. Laser cutting is a specialized function; it's not just a head you can strap onto a CNC machine. The laser beam will bounce off any shiny surface and cut whatever it hits - you don't want that to be those arms or legs of yours, or your eyes. That's why laser cutters are totally contained, and don't work until you close the lid.