Newbie to the board!!

Thread: Newbie to the board!!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Newbie to the board!!

Hi all,
    Nice to meet you all. I have been a CNC machinist (vert. and horiz. mills only, no lathes) for about 9 years now. When I started I knew nothing about machining at all. But a strong math background, the willingness to learn (and retain info), the ability to ask the right questions and a good imagination helped me advance very quickly within the shop. In about 3 1/2 years I became lead man on second shift working with and training 8-12 new operators at any given time. So I must have impressed someone! When I started we were still running punch tapes to load programs. Eventually we installed a DNC system. Here is my problem... Our company is experiencing a severe down sizing due to lack of work, I think it is from failure to keep up with new technology, but thats another story for another time. Needless to say I and about 75 people, 70% of the shop, have been laid off. The entire western NY area is suffering the same fate. So it is time for me to move on. I am extremely nervous about this move. I am planning a move to Florida where there seems to be a lot of machining work. ( The weather doesnt hurt either!) Buffalo is c-c-c-c-cold! I am afraid that what I know will not be enough in todays maching world. This is a link to the place I worked and the machines I operated.

http://www.snyderindustriesinc.com/equiplist.html