help with machine

Thread: help with machine

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default help with machine

Hi all
    Just joined and looking for advice, I have no experience of cnc machines or their construction bar trawling the web and youtube for a couple of days now!

I make and shape soft wood (cricket bats), always the same size and looking for a machine that can take up some of the workload. Dimensions of the wood pieces are 560x110x60mm approx so need a router to accomodate that and nothing more.

I have no electronics experience so wondering what the cost would be to get someone to build and programme a machine designed for this job. Would be a great help, reluctant to dive in for a few thousand with a manufacturers until tested the water and from the small amount I have read there may be no need.

Any feedback or thoughts (or offers!) would be really appreciated.

Tom

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Hi Tom
    Sounds like a job for a profile copy of some type, like the ones used in the making of turbine veins in plains!.
    bigpea

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Hi Bigpea

Thanks for the message, but don't understand a word of it! Any ideas if I had all the parts to hand what the build time would be to contract an experience builder to make it work?

Really at this point looking for advice on costings and whether people are available with the necessary skills/experience to build it.
    Tom

Downloads
    Uploads

In this economy I think your money would be better spent buying a used CNC router. I doubt a cricket bat would require anything special to manufacture. Check out some CNC routers at work on you tube and see what you think.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Smile CnC Router

How have you got on?

I am an ex service engineer, recently promoted to General Manager Of Emach International Ltd, EMACH CNC Machinery, Plasma, Routers, Engravers and Machining Centres