Wigglers

Thread: Wigglers

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Wigglers

So, I’ve been dialing in my home built CNC and accuracy has become a primary part of that endeavor. Specifically, I’ve built a modified Avid router for doing small musical instrument and chair work (my background is in furniture making). I’ve worked with industrial sized routers before and have come to appreciate the benefit of accurately sized parts, so a home built device has presented some challenges. Measuring for square, tramming my spindle and setting homing sensors have all been in the mix and have dictated the use of devices that are somewhat foreign to my trade.

Where my previous machines had factory references for work placement, I’m finding my home built is better suited to user defined work offsets. Where I had developed templates in CAD for work placement that carried over to the machine references (in another life), with my current machine the work that I intend to do doesn’t lend itself to that approach. So, my latest fascination has become the use of “wigglers”, a rather mundane device fairly common to the machinist’s trade. I’ve watched countless Youtube videos on their proper use, but still have questions.

For instance; the metal working trade commonly uses low speed spindles (under 10,000 RPM tops), and often have the ability to throttle down to 1,000 RPM (or less). Is the use of a wiggler viable in a spindle that has a low end of 7500 RPM? Are there specific types of wigglers better suited for use in a router? What constraints come to mind when attempting their use in a woodworking environment? Are there other devices that should be considered instead? For those thinking that + or - 1/32” in working with wood is “close enough”, my work sometimes requires a quality of fit that only a + or - .005” tolerance might satisfy (think of dovetails, mortice and tenon work and second ops placement). Repeatability is also important.