Newbie cutting 6063 speed, feed, and bit advice

Thread: cutting 6063 speed, feed, and bit advice

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default cutting 6063 speed, feed, and bit advice

I am brand new to using CNC. I successfully made my first piece out of plastic using the tutorial in the operator's manual. (that's how new) Anyway, now I've been tasked with creating tensile test dog bone samples. The ones I'm starting with are 6063 aluminum. They are already cut to the length and width, I just need to cut out the dog bone shape. I've already written my gcode and everything looks fine, my only problem is that I have no idea what speed my spindle speed should be, what the feedrate should be or even what kind of bit to use. I've tried a few things but have broken every bit so far and haven't made it more than a 1/2 inch into the first cut. Any help would awesome.
    Here are the specs that I know:
    Machine: Tormach 770
    Material Type: Aluminum 6063
    Dimensions of piece: 8 3/4" long, 3/4" wide, 1/8" thick
    Feedrate: currently set at 4 (based on some online calculator I found)
    Speed: currently set at 3000 (based on some online calculator I found)
    Bit: 1/8" I don't know anything else about it the bit
    No access to coolant, have to do this dry

not sure if you need any more info. I can try and figure out more if it's needed.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: cutting 6063 speed, feed, and bit advice

The main problem is in the last sentence of your specs. ''I have to do this dry'' Some WD40 in a spray can will make a world of difference, I also use soy oil (cooking oil), apply with a brush or an oil can. If you look at the broken pieces of cutter you will see that there is aluminum welded to the cutting edges, this is due to the lack of lubrication/coolant. 6063 is gooey stuff to machine.