Build Thread CO2 laser - for my wife ;)

Thread: CO2 laser - for my wife ;)

Downloads
    Uploads

Default CO2 laser - for my wife ;)

Hello!

I'm quite new to the forum and I realize that my questions will probably seem trivial, but I'm counting on some feedback

A little about me: Marcin, I'm a technician of refrigeration, at one time I was a contributor to the forum of a well-known industry portal in Poland (so I know that my questions for professionals layman will probably be for you biased ). I like tinkering with electronics, I like programming something, building, inventing, learning, improving. Hence the idea to make such a machine. It's a combination of pleasant (for me, I would just like to build something, I like to tinker) and useful (for my wife, she runs a small business and has a birthday in June which is to be her gift :P).

Immediately add that I have never designed machines in the computer, although autocad is not alien to me. Because of this I do not have it on the drawings yet, however my goal and request is not to evaluate the project but the idea according to which I want to make the machine. If the idea has a chance to implement the project will probably be created

In general, the matter is that I would like to build my wife a CO2 laser with a working field of about 1000x1000, mm. Currently we have a Chinese 400x400 and engraves as such, but in truth it's terrible ^#&^

Purpose:
    - mainly cutting in plywood 3-10mm and its engraving
    - additionally cutting and engraving plexi

Base construction:
    Steel structure from 40x40x2 profiles, welded - probably the upper part will be given to milling to be level for linear systems. It can be leveled with screwed feet. I don't have the possibility to anneal it relaxing the whole structure, unfortunately

X axis: