Laser Tips And Techniques document

Thread: Laser Tips And Techniques document

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Laser Tips And Techniques document

Hi,

I've been using a CO2 laser engraver/cutter since 2002 and have created a tips and techniques document on what I've learned (and wish I knew before). I'd like to share it. It's really a work-in-progress. I work at Microsoft Research Hardware Lab where our two lasers get more use than a screwdriver.

The document is attached.

It describes methods for precision bending thermal plastic, welding, creating smooth beveled edges and much more.

Hope you find it useful.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Files Attached Files

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Laser Tips And Techniques document

Good document Mike. Lots of tips on cutting plastics. I wonder if laser cutting plastics is less popular these days since we now have 3D printing.
    Bunch of good stuff here but light on techniques to focus and how to check and correct beam alignment. Important in a machine that large.
    Different when cutting wood you focus on the top and the beam (kerf) widens below. Which I think is from beam geometry.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Laser Tips And Techniques document

Thanks for the reply!