Need Help! Unable to cut through cardboard with 60W laser!

Thread: Unable to cut through cardboard with 60W laser!

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Unable to cut through cardboard with 60W laser!

Hello,

Work has recently purchased a 60W CO2 laser, seen here: https://www.automationtechnologiesin...hine/460-60ws/ and have several issues, I hope someone can help with. I'm brand new to laser cutters.

1. With potentiometer at 100%, and power settings at 99%, the max current I'm getting on the ammeter is 22mA which seems low. I've read that 60W lasers can run at 30mA conservatively. I contacted the vendor and they said 22mA is fine. Is this correct?

2. In trying to align the 3rd mirror directly above the lens, there are settings where I can make the beam cut an arc or even have two arcs when pulsed. Any thoughts on why this is occurring?

3. I aligned the mirrors, set the focal length using the provided tool, and tried cutting some 6mm cardboard with the following settings:

25 mm/s at 75% power
    25 mm/s at 85% power
    25 mm/s at 95% power

I cannot cut through all the material with any of these settings and if I try driving the speed at 10 mm/s or lower, it doesn't do anything. I hit start on RDWorks v8 and everything just stays still. A speed higher than 10 mm/s allows for movement and laser activation though.

With the above settings, I should be able to cut clear through cardboard, no? Image of result attached. Note that 25 mm/s @ 95% power has been pushed with my finger nail.

Thank you very any insight and help. It is much appreciated.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Unable to cut through cardboard with 60W laser!-cut-settings-jpg   Unable to cut through cardboard with 60W laser!-thickness-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Unable to cut through cardboard with 60W laser!

hi
    not entirely sure but looking at the thickness of the lines on the first picture indicates to me that you are way out of focus

Downloads