Need Help! : ( New laser is speckling or dotting my work piece.

Thread: : ( New laser is speckling or dotting my work piece.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default : ( New laser is speckling or dotting my work piece.

I recently purchased a BOSS L1416. Been using a Logilase for a couple years now so I'm not a newbie. I've checked the machine over to make sure it's set up correctly and such. When I laser acrylic or metal marking paint I am seeing that the beam is producing some kind of speckling... as if it's "over-spraying" so to speak. I have never seen this before. Boss has been great with their responsiveness, and said it was a lens issue, so they sent me a new one. I installed it, made sure everything is clean including mirrors. Same problem. What gives! Also, the DPI/scan gap doesn't look quite up to what it should be... 0.05 Having trouble getting it to frost the acrylic.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails : ( New laser is speckling or dotting my work piece.-20180128_194548-jpg   : ( New laser is speckling or dotting my work piece.-20180116_135901-jpg  

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: : ( New laser is speckling or dotting my work piece.

Any damage to any of the mirrors? I've never seen that sort of shotgun effect on any laser I've used regardless of lens condition. And I've used some extremely crappy lenses lol.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

The laser beam may be hitting the air cone hole. I had double images on acrylic and I had to drill mine air cone some. Just a guess

Last edited by Trell; 02-04-2018 at 10:28 PM. Reason: missed speld

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

It could also be a component in the beam path not secured properly. Say..... a mirror that is vibrating during x/y motion or something. If it was the beam clipping the inside of the nozzle the results should be more consistent rather than this random scattering IMHO

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads