Need Help! Issues with MDF cutting - Random burning on the back of material

Thread: Issues with MDF cutting - Random burning on the back of material

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Issues with MDF cutting - Random burning on the back of material

Guys! I've been running a 150W Laser for about three years, cutting 15mm MDF. Normally it goes fine, but from time to time we get orders to make closely-located parallel cuts that give us issues. Pictures show this best.

As you can see, it only happens sometimes. Plenty of close cuts around, 90% of them are fine. But of course, we need to get them 100% right.

We run the system with a 2HP 20 liter fully open (basically the compressor motor always running, to get the max flow).

I'm not sure what else I can look into to address this. I'm sure you guys are smarter.

Thanks!

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Issues with MDF cutting - Random burning on the back of material-mdf1-jpg   Issues with MDF cutting - Random burning on the back of material-mdf2-jpg   Issues with MDF cutting - Random burning on the back of material-mdf3-jpg  

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Issues with MDF cutting - Random burning on the back of material

Hello,
    is your feed rate constant during these travels?
    I could imagine a decelerating feed rate to be the cause of the burn marks.
    You have only encountered these issues with closely-located parallel cuts, correct?

Best regards,
    Dominik

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by diycncmill View Post
    Hello,
    is your feed rate constant during these travels?
    I could imagine a decelerating feed rate to be the cause of the burn marks.
    You have only encountered these issues with closely-located parallel cuts, correct?

Best regards,
    Dominik
    Hey Dominik,

It is, or better said, should be. There's no messing with it in our part.
    And yes, only in closely located parallel cuts.