How do I get started?

Thread: How do I get started?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default How do I get started?

I am brand new to this entire hobby, beyond I understand what I want to do, just not where to start.

I'd like to learn how to make 2D & 3D engravings of wood, acrylic, etc... (OK - full disclosure - I don't know what other materials I can work with). For example, an image of ??? but coffee table sized (in sections maybe), then cover it in glass.

I have a basic understanding of tools, math, and computers. I want to learn how I can make the items, then maybe how to incorporate them into other things (a cupboard door or coffee table top).

So where should I begin? Books that might be helpful, training or classes online, homebrewed gear or good starter items.

Looking forward to hearing your ideas.

Similar Threads:

Default Re: How do I get started?

Learning Artcam or other type software, have a hobby cnc router like 6090 1212. do 3D engraving work on cnc router with your design.

1212 vacuum table engraving mark on wood

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi....join the club...newbie to CNC too........I think for your needs like wood and other soft materials of a fairly large size you could outlay some dough for a 6040 CNC router......that is a work envelope of 600mm X 400mm and a height of appox 100mm.....price about A$1,500 to A$2,000 approx. on EBAY with ball screws.

Anything bigger than that gets to be over the 2 grand mark exponentially......allow another 1/2 grand for peripherals like cutters and a program (Mach3) to run the dang thing.....also perhaps a Cad/Cam program like Fusion360 which for hobby use is free.

That's just a starter.....you also need a place with electrics to store and run the thing......delivery can take about 10 days as they're as common as bird sh!t.

Don't expect to cut steel with this router.....aluminium if you're lucky.
    Ian.

Downloads
    Uploads