Help - Get interference from Plasma on my PC

Thread: Help - Get interference from Plasma on my PC

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question Help - Get interference from Plasma on my PC

Hi, I'm new to CNC Plasma cutting and need some help.

I've build a 3-axis CNC machine to run a router on it and it worked very well.
    A while ago I decided to put a plasma cutter on it. I'm using a Thermadyne Inverter type with high-frequency arc start.

The problem is, as soon as I "trigger" the plasma arc my computer pickup interference and either hangup or start with alarm beep and lose control of most functions.

I've tried to isolate the cutting table from the gantry but it doesn't help. Even with the plasma cutter removed from the cnc machine and positioned 10' from the computer the problem remain the same.

I assume the problem is the high-frequency arc, if so, how can I get arround this problem?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

I've had a little experience with a plasma causing one of my PC's to reboot. I'd say that the motherboard had a design weakness that made it susceptible to the RF noise.

Best to try a different PC. Before you actually go to all the work of changing over the PC in your control, you can just set up the prospective PC near the same location, and fire up the plasma and see how the PC reacts.

Run the PC through a battery backup type UPS (surge protector). You should already be doing this.

First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Downloads
    Uploads

Grounding for noise and grounding for AC safety are two different topics. The HF noise from older plasma cutters is a real problem. If it reboots you computer it most likely will cause problems in the motion control electronics.

Make sure your computer is not grounded locally to the table or the plasma side.