Using Motion controller

Thread: Using Motion controller

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Using Motion controller

So originally I was using a USB Motion controller for my new CNC Plasma build. Using 3 axis, Nema23 motors, proximity switches for limits and homing, as well as the Neuron Simplicity THC. It seems the USB motion controller I sourced originally does not allow the M10Px and M11Px commands needed for the THC to functions (turns on/off the THC at corners and kerfs).

Now I'm looking at the UC300ETH-5LPT (CNCdrive - motion controls) as an alternative. The Neuron supplier has said this one allows the commands needed for THC. My question might seem stupid but its just because I'm new to motion controllers, having only used the old parallel port breakout boards. My question is, it seems the UC300ETH-5LPT requires ANOTHER breakout board to be connected. Because the I/O connections are only printer ports. Question is, can the stepper motors/drivers be connected directly to the UC300 or first to a BOB and THEN to the UC300? I'm limited with space as I've made my electrical control box, which is cramped as it is. I want to connect to a normal laptop, which is why I need the connection to be USB or Ethernet, which the UC300 has.

As advice is appreciated.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Using Motion controller

Hi Tim,

I'm using the Neuron Lite and a UC400ETH (also have a UC300ETH) but have "bigger" plans for it.

Yes, at present UCCNC uses M205/M206 as the THC on/off commands from gcode. There is an output pin activated by these commands, and this output is wired to the Neurons "Hold" input. When the level goes high (5v) the AVC in the Neuron does not adjust the Z height.