Aluminium cutting dangers? Cnc plasma safety?

Thread: Aluminium cutting dangers? Cnc plasma safety?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Aluminium cutting dangers? Cnc plasma safety?

Hi yall,

I'm fairly new to cnc machines. I heard about the dangers of a,chemical reaction when cutting aluminium on a plasma water table

My main use of the table is ornamental gate/fence panels. And I be will cutting steel/SS and aluminum quite often. Can somone with experince on this, quide me on the proper and safe way to cut aluminum without the risk of explosion? Will switching material types, ss/alum/ms take allot time to setup?

Also can somone go over any other dangers and safety tips/precautions.

Thank you for your time.

PS- link to safety guidlines are dead. I've checked first b4 posting

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Aluminium cutting dangers? Cnc plasma safety?

There's a warning on the Torchmate site which talks about an explosion hazard from dissociated hydrogen that can accumulate under a sheet of aluminum as it's being cut: https://torchmate.com/uploads/images...fetyNotice.pdf
    Apparently the hot aluminum has a big affinity for oxygen, and it can grab some away from the H2O molecules, creating free hydrogen. But if you're not doing multiple sheets in a short period of time, it's probably not a huge issue.

There's also a problem with aluminum-lithium alloys, which can burst into flames when they hit water.

But in general, I think it's safer than cutting stainless steel, which releases hexavalent chromium. http://www.esabna.com/us/en/educatio...hex-chrome.cfm That's a very nasty, irritating and carcinogenic substance you need to protect yourself from by using a dual-cartridge or air-supplying respirator https://www.red-d-arc.com/pdf/MSA%20...Protection.pdf as well as good ventilation and the proper eye, skin, and hand protection equipment.

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]