need tips for oxyfuel cutting 4.5" pl on

Thread: need tips for oxyfuel cutting 4.5" pl on

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default need tips for oxyfuel cutting 4.5" pl on

we have a multicam 6000 cnc table w/a hpr 260 and a oxy fuel head. we have had the table for for three years but rarely burn heavy plate. it dose an ok job but would like to do better, specificly on 4.5" mild steel. any advice would be great.

thanks

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I have no direct experience, but you might check here:
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/cnc_pl...iscussion.html

Matt

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by iron man View Post
    we have a multicam 6000 cnc table w/a hpr 260 and a oxy fuel head. we have had the table for for three years but rarely burn heavy plate. it dose an ok job but would like to do better, specificly on 4.5" mild steel. any advice would be great.

thanks
    It would help if you have specific questions. Are you using Ox/Acetylene, Ox/Propane, or other fuel gas?
    What brand of torch are you using?

keebler is correct I'd have noticed your question the day it was posted, if posted in the ox/fuel discussion.

I don't know that I can help on your 4.5" material as I rarely cut above 1.5". I have made a few cuts in 4" but my expreience is limited above 1.5"

If it works.....Don't fix it!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks guys I am new to the forum and had not found the ox/fuel discusion.

To be more specific I have a Victor torch using oxy/acetylne.

The biggest issues I am having is that I seem to have to do a tremendious amount of preheat not just with the cut torch but with a rosebud as well. Dose that seam right? Is there a good base metal temp to cut at?