MAXNC 10 controlled by Mach3: Two problems

Thread: MAXNC 10 controlled by Mach3: Two problems

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default MAXNC 10 controlled by Mach3: Two problems

As I mentioned in my previous post, I'm new to the whole process (CNC machines, g-code, and posting on this forum) so if this thread should be somewhere else, feel free to move it, or ask me to repost.

I recently got my MAXNC 10 up and running using Mach3 software (full version). I have two problems. First off, when I'm jogging (even sometimes when I'm machining) and I try to move a long distance (more than an inch or so), the machine will initially start to move, but will come to an abrupt halt. When it does this, the machine will be emitting a sort of humming-ringing sound, like it's trying to move but just cannot. Since I have an open-loop system, Mach3 still thinks the machine is moving. Can anyone tell me why this is happening?

Secondly, and more importantly, there seems to be a really weird unit problem with my machine. If I move the machine an inch in any direction, Mach3 thinks I'm moving it 8 units. I'm not sure that it's EXACTLY 8, but it's certainly somewhere between 7.99 and 8.01. I have been correcting for this using the "scale" option, but I'd really rather find the root of the problem.

EDITED to say: I've been reading section ~5.5.1 of the mach 3 manual where it talks about steps per unit. I'm a bit confused though, and welcome any guidance.

Any and all help is much appreciated. Thanks.

mike

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by MachFlowMike; 12-11-2007 at 04:46 PM.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by MachFlowMike View Post