CNC power outage / power saving / pre shift start up

Thread: CNC power outage / power saving / pre shift start up

Downloads
    Uploads

Default CNC power outage / power saving / pre shift start up

Good Morning all,

I am new to cnc machine tool, I have been working with FANUC and various other robots over the last decade.

We used to leave our robots powered up overnight as the risk of loosing our zero position due to battery drain outweighed the cost of re teaching a bunch of programs.

When left idle the robots would enter power save mode and shut down the servos. We would also E-stop the work cells.

The cost to leave these work cells powered up over night was minimal.

The cnc shop I started at shuts down all equipment over night.
    They have lost the ram on a few machine costing down time ( one still does not have the tool changer after loosing all parameters )

The owners are penny wise on cost of power.

I would also would trigger pre start on presses to get lube up and running and flywheels spinning to get machines ready for start of shift.

The machines would pre start and get warmed up before employess arived.

Few questions I have:

Do most shops shut down the equipment over night?

Can I just leave "controller power on" with hitting e stop?

With CNC vs robots I know you need to zero return on power up.
    Can I leave control power on and avoid this?

Can I call a warm up program 30 min prior to first employee showing up?

With PLC automation I was able to automate a bunch of start up tasks.

1030pm on suday I would start compressors
    1035pm I would start lube on presses.
    1045pm I would start flywheels one at a time for the whole plant. Smallest press to biggest press to avoid going over x amps on building.

Can I do something like this with CNC?
    START compressors 40 min prior to shift (already have this in works)
    Start machine centers up.
    Trigger spindle warm up 30 min prior.
    Trigger table warm up 15 min prior.