Software that could handle a diy mill turn setup?

Thread: Software that could handle a diy mill turn setup?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Software that could handle a diy mill turn setup?

Looking to possibly build a mill turn setup. Want to go from turning to 4 axis milling in same program (servo driven lathe spindle/4th axis). Right now I'm using mach3 on my mill and it's been great, but as far as I know it won't do turning and milling in the same program. Have to do turning, close turn profile, open mill profile. Would be great if there was a way around that but if not, what other control software is available that would be better suited for a setup like this? I'm not a skilled programmer when it comes to post processors and macros, but I'm sure there will be a need for some of that. Just curious what a good option would be for controlling a machine like this. Also I haven't fully decided on the layout of the machine. It's possible that the turning would have it's own x and z axis separate from milling xyz, so possibly 6 axis. Cam will be done on fusion 360 so turning and milling are done in separate setups and posted together. I would imagine for the separated turning and milling axis, I would just need to insert a manual nc between the cam setups that activates a macro to switch from turning xz to milling xyz. Still possible that turning and milling could share the same axis though.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Software that could handle a diy mill turn setup?

I think Fusion has mill-turn capability and at least 5 axis, maybe more. I've never tried it, I just hand write the mill functions for my lathe and incorporate it into the G code file. Normally very simple 2D milling and drilling with live tooling.

Mach3 will handle 6 axes, so no problem there. You just need to generate G code to tell it what to do.