Techno-Isel Davinci upgrade help

Thread: Techno-Isel Davinci upgrade help

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Techno-Isel Davinci upgrade help

Hey Guy's, Newbie here!
    I just picked up a hardly used 1996 Davinci tabletop router.
    It had PAL software that was DOS based. I couldn't move Z at the same time as X-Y. Besides who wants to type code line by line...not me! I had a hard time finding much info on this unit except to buy Mastercam which isn't in my budget.

I decided to bypass all of the electronics to use MACH-3 and g-code since it's the industry standard. I have several IMS 483 stepper drivers I scrapped from a work project. It looks like they take the same thing as Gecko's???
    5V opto supply
    step clock
    direction
    enable
    Motor power...etc.

Does this sound right to you experienced with Gecko's or am I missing something? The IMS 483's are going to provide stepper drive until I can afford Gecko's.

Now it sounds like I need a breakout board and was thinking of something ~ $100 US. What do you recommend parallel, Cat-5, USB and what brand have you had luck with? Help please. I'm brand new to CNC but not motion control in general.

This thing is built like a tank with cast aluminum uprights and aluminum extrusions. I really like the design, now I can't wait to make something cool after upgrading!

More questions to follow I'm sure of it.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Techno-Isel Davinci upgrade help-davinci-jpg  

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Techno DaVinci Router