Need Help! Programming family of parts with Python

Thread: Programming family of parts with Python

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Programming family of parts with Python

hello, I'm unsure if this is the correct forum to post this in, But I ran into some questions while making a special program for my company to almost automate a time-consuming way we make our programs. I'm a 20-year-old apprentice without too much real-world experience and have no one to go and talk to about this so. Anyways my company parts with 4 different 30-130 MM holes with different locations and can be time consuming to onto master cam and program these things and make small adjustments since the post processor doesn’t fully want to co-operate with us and a hassle to program. As this kept frustrating me, I knew there had to be an easier fix and previously saw that I can use macros, but the problem with macros I saw is that it looked to confusing and it looked like a mess.
    So, I began to learn python and started to combine python and G-code to make a structured program and come out with a clean family of parts program. I did this turning all my Locations into variables and I did the same thing with everything else from the depth, hole sizes, and so on.
    My question now is:
    How can I show this to my company and be compensated?
    is there an actual need for something like this and how can I go and pursue it?
    is there an actual name for what I just did and where can I learn more?
    I couldn't find more info on how to do something like this and I was just led to Macros and CAD/CAM family of parts programs.
    thanks for reading and if anybody wants to see the program, I would be more than happy to show them.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Programming family of parts with Python

hi. i just read you post : you are hired

just show your results to whoever you wish

maybe is good to search for real people that understand what you do and help you develop