Problem References, equations, and formulas

Thread: References, equations, and formulas

Downloads
    Uploads

Question References, equations, and formulas

G'day everyone. I'm a cnc programmer by day and now I've finally bought my own little hobby cnc. I got a x61500gt and its using mach3 to run it.

at work I use masterwood project 317 and 327 (yep their old). But I've become pretty bloody good at running them. Everything I do I code by hand and I've been able to do some pretty detailed work with them.
    anyways. Here's my drama.

the masterwood program uses a different code than what I'm now led to believe is standard gcode. But it's relatively the same. Ie: g1 = g101
    and in my programs I'm able to write equations with I can refer to to write the program. But now with Mach3 it seems I can't do this. Can anyone tell me if it's possible to write a similar way I'm used to or if I'm gonna have to re learn everything and write things the hard way.

heres an example.

when using MW, I can input the size of the job and then write the code. Something like this.

#1=100
    #2=300
    #3=16
    #4=#1/2
    #5=#2/3
    #6=300
    G172 X0 Y0 Z0
    G101 X=#1 Y=#2 Z=#3 F5
    G102 X=#4 Y=#5 R=#6

so this basically go from zero point to 100mm on x, 300mm on y, 16mm on z,,, then from there to
    50mm on x (ie half of 100), 100mm on y (ie 1 third of 300), with a clockwise arc with radius 300mm.

to do the same with gcode (from what i gather... Please help) it requires I go.

G17
    G0 X0 Y0 Z0
    G1 X100 Y300 Z16 F5
    G2 X50 Y100 R300

now this is real basic I know but by using reference parameters (#1=100) I can easily alter the parameter at the top of the code to adjust the whole code below. This is also used when calculating trig and radius so that everything is mathematically precise.

Is is there anyways I can do this with gcode on Mach3 or am I out of luck. If you need more in depth info please say and I'll try respond with more for you to go off.