How to start a CNC career and what course should i do?

Thread: How to start a CNC career and what course should i do?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default How to start a CNC career and what course should i do?

Hi guys,

I would like to get some advice. I am planning to start a CNC career.

I am 37 years old graduated as a Level 3 Mechanical Technician with CAD/CAM basics 20 years ago. I live in Nottingham (UK) and spent many years in warehouses and unfortunately i didn't practice my profession. Now i decided to refresh my knowledge which is very poor at this point.

I would like to get some help how to start it, how to get a CNC setter/operator job (possibly a trainee job) as soon as possible. As a woodworker enthusiast i have some experience in woodworking so i prefer to work in this "sector".

I have found several courses (2-4 days) but i am not sure about them. Any opinions? Does it worth it? I don't want spend money for "nothing" because i am not sure that 4 days is enough for anything.

Please give me some tips how to start it. Thx.

Peter

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by burs; 01-20-2023 at 09:15 AM.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: How to start a CNC career and what course should i do?

4 years at uni might get your foot in a door.

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by dazp1976 View Post
    4 years at uni might get your foot in a door.
    ?Why? We both know it's not necessary... thx for nothing

Downloads
    Uploads

Find a cabinet shop that does commercial work, and get your foot in the door.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Downloads
    Uploads