Flashcut - New User- Backwards cutting

Thread: Flashcut - New User- Backwards cutting

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Flashcut - New User- Backwards cutting

I am new to Flashcut. Everything is working great (plasma) but the cuts are backwards. Seems the settings are off but I cant find where. If I create text to cut the words are being cut backwards on the table. When I reverse the settings the words on the screen are then backwards. I think it is my X axis that is backwards seems on the screen it shows up as negative number. Any thoughts?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Flashcut - New User- Backwards cutting

Quote Originally Posted by Cattel001 View Post
    I am new to Flashcut. Everything is working great (plasma) but the cuts are backwards. Seems the settings are off but I cant find where. If I create text to cut the words are being cut backwards on the table. When I reverse the settings the words on the screen are then backwards. I think it is my X axis that is backwards seems on the screen it shows up as negative number. Any thoughts?
    How are you obtaining the G-Code that cuts the text ? This sounds like it is simply cutting on a sequence determined by the CAM program creating the code and not really Flashcut's control an issue.

If you can find yourself a G-Code Editor (plenty of free ones out there to get a glimpse), you can run that step by step and see what order it cuts in,

ORDER of cut is a function of the CAM program, and usually, one needs to manually set that order for "words" to be cut out because built in algorithms are most often set to go from one direction to the other, or in your case, a "nearest entity first" where they attempt to "help" you cut time by making the least amount of moves.

I've done a crazy amount of text work over the years, and I know how it feels when it does not cut the way we read. Still the job gets done, one way or the other, as long as, in your case, centers are cut out first.