Z axis settings

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Z axis settings

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Z axis settings

Hello everyone,

I'm in the process of setting up my 4' x 4' FLA Saturn 2 with CNC Router Parts electronics (NEMA 34). The problem I'm having is that Z axis travel shows ~25" on the DRO which is obviously incorrect. What I'm trying to figure out is if something is set wrong in the XML file causing this. I haven't been successful contacting Nate, so anybody else run into this problem. I'm very new to CNC so I may be missing the obvious.

Thanks,
    Tim

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Z axis settings

Are you saying that if you run G0Z25 from the MDI that it does not go to 25 exactly? If so I have been meaning to bring that up for a while. I also would like to know why that is.
    If you run G0Z0 it should always go to zero.
    I just ran G0Z25 and the DRO reads 25.004. Not 25.000. I think it has something to do with the "steps per" setting. At least that is what appears to me to cause it. Why. I don't know.

Jack.

Jack
    Ponder Labs (https://tinyurl.com/y96aky5x)

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by PLJack View Post
    Are you saying that if you run G0Z25 from the MDI that it does not go to 25 exactly? If so I have been meaning to bring that up for a while. I also would like to know why that is.
    If you run G0Z0 it should always go to zero.
    I just ran G0Z25 and the DRO reads 25.004. Not 25.000. I think it has something to do with the "steps per" setting. At least that is what appears to me to cause it. Why. I don't know.

Jack.
    No, I'm wondering about the fact that it goes from 0 to 25. My X and Y axis go from 0 to 50 which I assume is in inches, but the z axis doesn't travel 25 inches.

Thanks,
    Tim

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by trm1980 View Post