Dual Wood and Plasma Cutting Tram Plate

Thread: Dual Wood and Plasma Cutting Tram Plate

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Dual Wood and Plasma Cutting Tram Plate

Hey Fella's

I am very new to this. but I have a 4x4 Saturn from FLA. I am setting it up now with the plug and play electronics and I had a thought. would it be possible to mount a router/spindle AND the rig for the plasma cutter on the mounting plate? that way I could just add the water table to the spoil board remove the bit from the router and then mount the plasma torch on the plate? Since the plasma kit electronics from CNC Router parts have a Torch Height control, I would think that exactly vertical and plum mounting of the torch isn't that important. I haven't yet trammed my router plate and I can't imagine going back over all that every time you want to switch over from plasma back to spindle.

Has anyone attempted such a thing? or have any thoughts on it?

Thank you

-Michael

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Dual Wood and Plasma Cutting Tram Plate

You could probably mount it right in front of the spindle on another mount you made but however here is the bad part. I owned a PlasmaCAM for about 3 years or so. Your handling and storing heavy sheets of steel, the plasma dust is everywhere. Ten years later I am still finding it. Your dealing with sparks and hot metal in a wood working area. The plasma torch might interfere with the electronics in the control box. You will soon tire of the switching back and forth.

1000x750 Workbee CNC - Mach4 - PMDX USB - Windows 10 Pro

Downloads
    Uploads

I also agree that a combination wood router/plasma in not a very good idea, especially when you add a water table.
    You'll have a water table filled with sawdust, and sparks starting fires in piles of dust, unless you keep everything really cleaned up. And the changeover would be a real pita.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]