Newbie Fanuc 16 M Probing

Thread: Fanuc 16 M Probing

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Fanuc 16 M Probing

Hello all!

So at work, we have this Fanuc robodrill alpha t10c that boss impulse bought at auction.
    I am familiar with making programs and running our other CNC machines ( trumpf punches and flow waterjet) but I've never used a CNC mill before but I managed to get it working...
    I cleaned out all the mess out of it, took out the parts we won't be using.

The machine comes with a Fanuc 16 M controller and a Renishaw MP12 probe system.

I have figured out how to input programs into the machine, figured out the drip-feed to the controller the only thing that I can't figure out is probing.
    I'd like to do simple things with the probe like edge finding and Z height
    There are programs in the machine related to the probe but I cannot seem to figure them out

any help with it would be appreciated

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Fanuc 16 M Probing

A mp12 is fairly old. but the ONLY thing you are losing out to on a newer one is the length. They work the same.
    step one. go to renishaw.com and get a user manual for inspection plus. An older one if possible because it has changed some on recent years.

step two read that

step 2.5 see if you have programs # 8890 9724 9833 these are key. See what is in the comments for copyright years- this should be step1 but whatever

step three buy a pack of 9volts and replace the probe battery

step 3.5 run macro 9832 to turn the probe on. holding it in your hand but letting the receiver see it, deflect the stylus and watch the skip input. like X4.7 or something. there will be a walkthrough of testing G31 in the book

4- try to calibrate the probe. you will need a master tool and a ring gage. I like to mount the ring gage on a new install, on a bar hanging out of a vise or in some fashion that if something goes wrong i wont munch the probe.