Power Options for GM Fanuc Arcmate

Thread: Power Options for GM Fanuc Arcmate

Default Power Options for GM Fanuc Arcmate

Hello All,

I am a newbie to this wonderful world of robots and was lucky enough to score a GM Fanuc Arcmate with all the fixings(controller and teach pendant) for what I thought was a very reasonable price. Unfortunately i do not have 3 phase power and not much working experience with it, though I am beginning to educate myself.

I have a 220v single phase hook up, the controller has a 3 phase transformer wired for 220v with a 2.5 kW rating. What are my options for getting three phase? rotary, static, VFD? Any information on the topic would be extremely helpful, I'm beyond eager to power this thing up.

Thanks

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Power Options for GM Fanuc Arcmate

I use a 40hp rotary phase converter to power a CNC Mill n CNC Lathe. I can run both machines at same time and believe if needed I could add a 3rd. It uses 100amps from my single phase house utility. And really doesn't cost as much as I thought it would.
    Good luck.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Thanks John! I was originally thinking about purchasing a rotary phase converter but I would like to keep this relatively low budget and only really need a converter to suit the controllers power requirements. That being said, VFD or static seem to be more affordable options but I'm curious if they will be able to work with the controller assuming I purchase one with the proper power rating.

Downloads
    Uploads

I found my phase converter used. 1/4 cost of new. If unit is asking for 240V 3phase, all power requirements should from primary in.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Perhaps I'll do some searching around on to see if I can find a used one. Otherwise I know of a place in town that has a mountain on industrial motors and could probably build one for relatively cheap and then buy an electrical panel.