Need Help! Mazak H500

Thread: Mazak H500

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Mazak H500

Hey guys, I have a Mazak H500 that has been acting a bit odd lately. A week or 2 ago it "lost" it's home 2 position. Gave it a quick look over but couldn't find anything wrong so I made an offset in the home 2 position parameter. It ran great for about 2 weeks. I came in this morning and it has jumped position again. Went back and checked the parameter and its the same. Tried to clean the Z axis limit switch in case it was sticking and causing the machine to grid shift. That didn't work either. It seems that every time it jumps it's about the pitch of the ballscrew (.200-.250) I ordered a new limit switch to try out but figured in the meantime I would ask here because I'm still a bit new to CNC maint. Thanks for any help you could give me. I also want to add that this H500 has a M32 control and I checked the travel of Z axis to the factory plaque, the soft limit travel is within .020 of the plaque's specified measurement so it seems home 1 is not moving, only home 2 position seems to be jumping

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Mazak H500

You may have a faulty encoder or wiring, there is usually one reference pulse per revolution on a separate track that is used by the control, it is sensed after the homing switch is latched, it seems it may be missing that pulse from time to time. maybe it can be stripped so the scale can be cleaned.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Do you think this machine would use a linear scale or rotary scale? I will start digging into the books to see what I can find out, thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Bdrangdo View Post