Newbie Was wondering,.....

Thread: Was wondering,.....

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Was wondering,.....

Hello,

I have a Fadal 4020 w/cnc 88 controler. I'm very new to using a VMC. Primary job is making parts out of sheet metal(lasered, punched, brake, etc.). Only real experience machining is using our old Bridgeport Ez-Trak for milling brake dies and the odd very simple machine job.

So I hope these next few questions don't seem to dumb.
    When I want to buy new tool holders for the turret, what kind of taper do i need. Or am I somehow thinking of this the wrong way(have only ever used R8 collets for the bridgeport.

Should I trust this machine to tap on its own or should I put a Tapmatic in there. If so, would the coolent splashing around there cause shorter life on the Tapmatic?

And last question for this thread as I hope I'm not asking too much already: can this machine broch? Nothing coming up yet that would require it yet, but love to just try it as I play with it to learn it.

Thanks,
    Curt

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

The Fadal VMC 4020 uses stabdard Cat CT40 taper tooling, BT40 taper tooling is not compatible with the tool changer, all CT40 Toolholders should have the standard Fadal retention knob (use Loctite) attached tightly onto the small end.

As for tapping your machine should come equipped with the rigid-tapping feature, it works great. If it does not try using a standard CT40 taper, floating tap holder and tapping collets, I wouldn't recommend using a self reversing Tap-matic tapping attachment.

As for broaching, theoritically it is possible using spindle orientation but the machine is not really designed to broach in the traditional sense, you could possibly exceed the machines Z-axis thrust capabilities. I would use a press for broaching.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Wait...