Need Help! Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe

Thread: Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe

Can anyone help with any "simple" methods of leveling stock in Y axis terms, that is chucked in the A axis ...... using touch probe outputs/findings ?? Perhaps a better way to put it is - how do you relate -Y axis touch probe Z output and a +Y axis touch probe Z output ..... so you can turn that into how many degrees to A axis needs to travel so -Y and +Y Z level is equal ??

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Leveling stock using 4th axis and probe

I have re-read the above post and think it may be a confusing/overly complicated way of explaining the problem and I'm relatively new to the CNC game .... so I'll try another way.

I am trying to tram stock (an existing part) that is mounted to the A axis .... using outputs from a touch probe. I need to incorporate this into a program so the machine can probe the parts Z height and then tram the part via the A axis.

I have tried to do this manually by jogging an equal distance either side of Y 0.0 and writing down the Z heights of each side .... then splitting the difference between the Z heights .... jogging the probe up/down to that point .... then jogging the A axis till it touches.
    That "manual" method gets the tram close .... but there is still quite a difference when repeating the same jog/probing process to check it is trammed. I think this is most likely caused by parts height above the A axis rotational center (around 9 inches) which would mean the surface I'm trying to tram, is moving in both Y and Z terms when the A axis is moved ??

There must be a method to calculating the A axis rotation required .... but I can't dig up any knowledge/routines to making it work.
    Any help appreiated

Downloads
    Uploads