Epoxy Granite How-To Video

Thread: Epoxy Granite How-To Video

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Epoxy Granite How-To Video

Love all the builds on this forum! Recently made a video going over my process to make an epoxy granite machine base, check it out:

I built an aluminum skeleton into the frame to help increase the stiffness of the unit. Took a few tries to get everything right, but I really like the way it turned out.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Epoxy Granite How-To Video

Great video! Thanks for sharing.

Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks, It was a fun build!

Downloads
    Uploads

That was really informative. Thanks for all of your work putting it together!

Downloads
    Uploads

Just a few things to add on epoxy granite. I have a lot of experience with epoxy and composites from my day job....

First, on the mold release, epoxy will not cure properly next to that mirror wax. That is one of the reasons for the poor surface finish in the video (with all the air bubbles). Adding a few layers of purple PVA mold release between the wax and the epoxy will solve the issue.

The other reason for those air bubbles is the way it was mixed. Those hand drill rotary mixers cause tons of bubbles like when you beat an egg. The resin should be gently mixed first (including any resin coloring) before mixing it with the sand and gravel (to make sure it is mixed properly). Any remaining air bubbles can be removed under vacuum at that point.

If you mix the resin and sand by hand (in small batches) and with heavy duty vinyl gloves, you can avoid mixing in additional bubbles. You can also feel the texture so you can make it as you want it. I like to add the resin slowly until it turns into a clay-like consistency.

You can't stick to rigid percentages of each ingredient, There are too many variables between resins and rocks. If it is too thick, add more resin. Too thin then add more sand.