EG/Steel lathe/mill/grinder - basic design proposal

Thread: EG/Steel lathe/mill/grinder - basic design proposal

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default EG/Steel lathe/mill/grinder - basic design proposal

Hi all

Lurker for some time but my first post here. I have designed many CNC machines in SolidWorks, but only ever built a 3D printer (yes I am one of THOSE people but ya gotta start somewhere). I have hit upon what I think is a good design for me, therefore posting here to get your thoughts. The design is not complete but as I have little experience actually building a CNC machine I though it worth sharing.

This will be a hobby machine, benchtop size, with a modest work envelope of roughly 150mm cubed. I will use it to make parts for rockets (e.g. de laval nozzles), IC engines, PCB milling and other projectlets. I will be machining mostly ally, and turning some free cutting steel (for the rocket nozzles).

Posting in EG because I think my questions below are related to the EG design - happy to post somewhere else.

I have a gas MIG welder, a Boxford/SouthBend 5" lathe, and a small Hobbymat/Prazimat benchtop mill (BFE65). I need it to be less than 80kg, so that two people can move it comfortably.

I plan to weld the frame using stress reduction strategies during welding (for the steel, not for me). And then... stick it in Mrs Me's ceramic kiln to get it up to 680C to properly stress relieve it. After that, MUCH cleaning of carbscale and then milling of the rail mounts, and filling with EG. I know there other threads active on the "EG in steel" design, not looking to hijack that thread but that is the approach I am proposing here. Where tubes are enclosed, I will bore 30mm ports for the EG.