New Machine Build your thoughts r welcome / Ultimate engraving precision

Thread: your thoughts r welcome / Ultimate engraving precision

Downloads
    Uploads

Red face your thoughts r welcome / Ultimate engraving precision

Hello Gents ,

after some search i found the forum and decided to join because i will build my own router/engraver machine (hobby use) and will be needing advice from experts like you all to avoid mistakes

A little about me
    im an expert user of SolidWorks and in my free time i enjoy 3d printing my projects in both my PLA and resin/SLA printers.

What would be special with this machine? To archive the highest performance in precision as possible.
    Goal is to build an engraving machine so i can use the smallest 0.1mm bits to engrave my tiny designs for family and friends !
    A working area of 40cmX40cm is plenty for me so i can have space to secure down my parts. .

I like to stay away from belt systems just in case i will want to do any light milling on aluminium parts or other soft metals.

So questions before i decide the skeleton design :

1-What i need ?Simple ballscrews or preload precision ballscrews ?

2-For what step motors i should be looking for ? I read the term microsteping. Is this something i need to consider for my working area 40x40cm?

3-What else i need to order to control this xyz step motors?

4-What software?

5-Where can i order the above parts in Europe (/ebay maybe?) ?

Sixth and last question for now : Them machinist milling machines also use preload precision ballscrews to archive there precision?

THANK YOU in advance for your time and your replies and sorry for my poor English!

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by oniromastoras; 01-22-2020 at 04:53 AM.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: your thoughts r welcome / Ultimate engraving precision

Hi,

1-What i need ?Simple ballscrews or preload precision ballscrews ?