Problem Vanguard 3000 machine plus an EP module and a cartridge controller,HELP!

Thread: Vanguard 3000 machine plus an EP module and a cartridge controller,HELP!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Unhappy Vanguard 3000 machine plus an EP module and a cartridge controller,HELP!

Ooookay, finally I am at my wits end...Alright, let me start off by saying that I am not a newbie with engraving, I have been running an IS 400 for seven years where I work, doing all sorts of work with it, 8 x 10 bronze plaques, photographs,etc, but that's what I am not here for, that machine is running fine.What I am here for is the machine that the IS 400 replaced, I was told where I work to 'get rid of it or take it home with you, just make it disappear' . So, here I sit with a NH Vanguard 3000, a cartridge controller and an EP module.Now, I am a relatively good troubleshooter so I am told(that's another of my titles where I work,test engineer) but for the life of me I am lost on this one..I think I may know now why they got rid of it, no one else could figure out what was going on with this thing, and so I am now one of those people too. So I ask humbly for help;I apologize first off for the length of this post,this has been a long,long troubleshooting scenario.With that said this is the sequence of events in chronological order: Inherited machine, cartridge controller,had to buy old small RCA monochrome,(they had an old word processor hooked up serially with this..dont ask me how it worked,have not a clue)set machine up, initially it worked, went thru it's boot sequence,downloaded ok, set up engraving plate, tried to adjust z axis, started smelling smoke(yes.oh no went thru my mind)shut machine down.Looked thru machine/controller, found one z axis driver was toast.Checked motor, winding resistance was off on one phase,motor smelled smoky so ordered new/old 2 phase motor,thinking that may be the issue. Put new motor in, put in new z axis driver chip, turned cartridge controller on,m