Flexicam ATC router retrofit with Kflop/Kanalog

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flexicam ATC router retrofit with Kflop/Kanalog

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Flexicam ATC router retrofit with Kflop/Kanalog

I have a Flexicam router that stopped working. It appeared that one of the I/O boards had failed and it would get part way through the boot sequence, then just hang.

Although the router was less than 10yrs old, the PC and hardware looked to be considerably older, so rather than try to repair it, I decided to replace the old PC and I/O boards with a Kflop/Kanalog.

I have built plenty of CNC tables running Mach3 using steppers with a G540 or any of the Chinese drivers and BOB's, but this is my first time dealing with AC servo motors and a dedicated controller. Nevertheless, while it wasn't an easy task tracing all the existing wiring, I managed to install the Kflop/Kanalog and wire it all up. I even left room for a 5th driver for a future rotary axis. Pic attached.

With KMotion running, I turned it on and was able to verify all my inputs and outputs are working. I was able to set up my axis channels, test my encoders and with the Step Response screen, get motor movement.

I assume the next step is to tune the motors (which are still installed in the machine, coupled to 10:1 gearboxes and racks). The problem is, I have no experience with servo tuning and have absolutely no experience with C programming, but I have gone to far to turn back now.

Pics of the 3 plots attached. The Panasonic servos are operating in Velocity Mode, and I increased the P Gain a little to the point where the Position appeared to follow the Command quite close. Increasing the P Gain any more would cause the Output to oscillate. Increasing D didn't appear to make a huge difference and increasing I (even a little, ie 0.001) would cause more oscillation.