Retrofit CNC to this saw with kflop?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Retrofit CNC to this saw with kflop?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Retrofit CNC to this saw with kflop?

Hello,

I've got a very old saw for cutting stone. It originally used steel cable with abrasive slurry. Since I've owned it I have converted it to use diamond wire and have the two motors running off of VFD's so I can control the speeds. The main motor that drives the wire is 10hp, the up/down motor is 0.75 hp going through a gear reduction and a winch... resulting in down feeds speeds of 12-36" per HOUR. I'll be adding a second axis (horizontal) soon and plan to use a similar setup to the down feed, 1 to 2 hp motor controlled by a VFD. Sort of like a foam wire saw.

I'm new to CNC so trying to figure out if what I want to do is doable. Here is what I'd like to do:
    - Have 2 axis control, expandable to a third (rotating table), but even if I don't get the third axis just the two would be great.
    - I'd be happy with tolerances measured in mm... I'm cutting stone not building space craft.

So my questions are:
    - The VFD that controls the down feed motor has inputs for speed (0-10v or 4-20mA). If I added a magnetic linear encoder that had the magnetic strip the length of the full axis travel, would that allow me to control the speed and positioning? Since I'm not using servo motors I'm fuzzy on this. Is the feedback sensor all that is needed for positioning?
    - Currently my down feed speed is manually set. The main motor that drives the cutting wire is controlled by a VFD, I can output the amp load to a 0-10v analog output... would like to use that as input into the feed speed (PID?)

FWIW I'm a software developer (mainly C++) so if I have to I think I should be able to do any C programming needed.

Here's a video of the saw in operation:

Thanks for any pointers.
    Greg.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Retrofit CNC to this saw with kflop?