KFLOP Capabilities

Thread: KFLOP Capabilities

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default KFLOP Capabilities

I'm in the process of building a cnc router. I had purchased a G540 to drive my 4 steppers (X1, X2, Y, Z). I want to add a rotary axis later, but the 4 drives on the G540 are spoken for. Was starting to look into usb controllers and now have found the KFLOP.

I'm thinking about controlling the G540 with a KFLOP and adding one individual stepper driver for the future rotary axis. What else can I do with the KFLOP?

Can I interface it with my own electroncs/software for manual control (ie no PC)?

Can I have encoder feedback on my steppers to detect missed steps?

What else can I do with the i/o and software capabilities?

Can I download and check out the software before purchasing the hardware?

I'm an engineer by degree (ME & EE) and would love to better understand the capabilities of the KFLOP. I've got 20 yrs experience writing C code and designing embedded systems. It would be really cool if I could do some custom stuff without having to design and debug my own complete module from scratch.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by Rob K View Post
    Can I interface it with my own electroncs/software for manual control (ie no PC)?
    Yes you can run stand-alone by either Flashing your own C programs into Flash or send RS232 motion commands from your electronics

Can I have encoder feedback on my steppers to detect missed steps?
    Absolutely or run closed loop.

What else can I do with the i/o and software capabilities?
    a lot :}

Can I download and check out the software before purchasing the hardware?
    Yes, go to our download page. You can run our KMotionCNC program in simulation mode. We also include a C Compiler and Mini IDE you can go to our KMotion | C Program Screen and look at and compile example programs (but they won't run without hardware)