New DM 2100 owner... lots of questions!

Thread: New DM 2100 owner... lots of questions!

Downloads
    Uploads

Default New DM 2100 owner... lots of questions!

Hi Everyone - I’m pretty new to machining and to CNC in general. (I’m a hobbyist and have far more interest and curiosity than I do money or training!). Anyway, I saved a DM-2100 from a trip to the scrapyard recently and want to see if I can do something useful with it. The electronics seem intact except for a couple of strained connections but all I can get it to do is spin the spindle. So, long story short, I’m thinking of pulling ALL of the electronics and making some hand wheels on my lathe to turn it in to a manual mill, at least in the short term. I’ve really enjoyed learning the old-school basics on my dads old Craftsman 101 (aka Atlas 618) lathe so I like the idea of doing the same with the mill. Am I crazy? Has anyone done such a thing?

In any case, I would of course keep all the electronics and not cut or permanently modify anything on the mill so I can return it to original someday or refit it with more up-to-date controls, etc... or maybe the parts would be of value to someone here?

Either way, I could sure use a maintenance manual or any other documentation that may have been available for the little beast at some point. I believe it is very similar to the 2200 and 2400 so a manual for one of those would be better than nothing... which is all I’ve got at the moment!

Thanks for reading and thanks for your help in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: New DM 2100 owner... lots of questions!