straight bit actual cutting diameter vs specified cutting diameter

Thread: straight bit actual cutting diameter vs specified cutting diameter

Downloads
    Uploads

Question straight bit actual cutting diameter vs specified cutting diameter

Noob here to CNC. I have noticed with my DIY CNC router that parts that I cut are not exactly as I have them drawn. Ex. I cut a 3 inch square part and it is to large for the 3 inch square hole that I also cut. The block is a bit oversize but maybe .005 and the hole is a bit undersize by about the same. Not a lot but I cannot force fit it.
    When you get a .25 inch straight bit do you assume it has .25 inch cutting width or do I have to measure the cutting width some how and plug that into the tool library so the software generates a tool path based on the actual cutting width?
    Thanks for any feedback.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: cutter specified width vs actual cutting width

Quote Originally Posted by tkms002 View Post
    Noob here to CNC. I have noticed with my DIY CNC router that parts that I cut are not exactly as I have them drawn. Ex. I cut a 3 inch square part and it is to large for the 3 inch square hole that I also cut. The block is a bit oversize by maybe .005 and the hole is a bit under size by about the same. Not a lot but I cannot force fit it.
    When you get a .25 inch straight bit do you assume it has .25 inch cutting width or do I have to measure the cutting width some how and plug that into the tool library so the software generates a tool path based on the actual cutting width?
    Thanks for any feedback.