First CNC build - ESS, Mach4, Ballscrews - velocity vs. feed rate + misc

Thread: First CNC build - ESS, Mach4, Ballscrews - velocity vs. feed rate + misc

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default First CNC build - ESS, Mach4, Ballscrews - velocity vs. feed rate + misc

Got my new CNC (hobby) build up and running and have successfully connected to all axis (X, Y, Z) and for now, things seem to move and work. So far, only setup things with "standard/default" settings

I am new to Mach4 (and in generel new to the CNC world) and was hoping for some input on the below:

My setup:
    1x1 meter (mainly for hardwood)

- 4x Ball screws SFU1605
    -> 16mm > pitch : 5mm
    1 x 5 Axis Breakout Board
    4 x Nema23 3.1Nm Stepper Motors
    -> Dip switch settings > 4.3 Amps > 1/10th Microstep

4 x CWD556 Microstepping Drivers
    1 x 400Watt PSU 36Volts
    1 x Ethernet Smoothstepper (USB) (plugin frequency: 40 hZ)

1. G-code > Fusion feed rate vs. Mach 4 velocity
    I exported g-code from Fusion 360 (done this many times) for a simple contour. Cutting feed rate was set to 2500 mm/min. However executing the g-code movement is VERY slow. On the machine i've run similar on, 2500 mm/min was moving O K fast.

My Mach 4 motor tuning settings: (Metric)
    Counts pr. unit

Velocity Units/minute

Acceleration Units

How come it is moving so slow? I guess if "velocity" needs to be compared with the "feed rate", I have my answer there, but would that then mean I need to update my tool library and all feed rates calculated towards the very high velocity number?

ps. The current velocity seems to reflect pretty close to the 2500 feed rate I've tried on another machine, but unsure why I need to set it so high to get any decent movement speed.

2. Mach 4 > Traverse or Feed ?
    Can anyone shed some light on what to choose here? I'm not entirely sure what it means

First CNC build - ESS, Mach4, Ballscrews - velocity vs. feed rate + misc-cnc-jpg

Similar Threads: