Rebuilding an old desktop router

Thread: Rebuilding an old desktop router

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Rebuilding an old desktop router

Hello everyone! So here's a background on myself and what I've got going on. I've been a cnc machinist for about 12 years and probably 6 years ago I purchased a used machine off ebay. I spent some time working on it got it to cut some gcode then decided I wanted to start upgrading some stuff. Well nothing ever happened and it sat in a basement till recently. So first on the list of upgrades was all the electronics. I ditched everything and started over basically. I purchased a gecko g540 a Uc400eth and the uccnc software to go with it. My power supply is a 48v 10a or something like that and now I'm stuck in the wiring of the electronics. Basically I took the wiring diagram from homanndesigns and using paint I erased everything I wasn't planning on usiglng anytime soon. This included the 20a relays for controlling the spindle and the db9s for the limit switch and vfd. So i have a iec power supply from the old build that has a capacitor soldered to it. Is the capacitor to redirect the current to move in 1 direction? I also have a 70cfm fan that was with the original controller I would like to use. It's 115v 60hz 14w and I wasnt sure exactly how to wire it into my system. Do I wire it directly in with my load and my ground on my 48v power supply? I am sure I will have a ton of other questions and as soon as I have time I would like to post pictures of my progress and probably the wiring diagram. Have a great weekend everyone!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Rebuilding an old desktop router

to answer some of your questions:

1. A capacitor is an energy storage device and acts to smooth out voltage levels in a power supply. This assumes we are talking about the filter capacitor which is usually the large component on the power supply.