Need Help with My Design

Thread: Need Help with My Design

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Need Help with My Design

Hi All,

Been a while since I last posted, but I got interested in making a CNC machine. Mostly because I want to have something to fall back on.

I'm in IT for 20 years and I've had enough, so looking to start something different. Not sure if I can see myself continuing IT for another 15-20 years.

Anyway, here is my design:
    20mm square linear rails, 1605 ballscrews, aluminum extrusions, 3/4" aluminum gantry plates, planning on using nema 23 motors. Shooting for a 48" x 24" cutting area.

Need Help with My Design-mycnc1-jpg

Need Help with My Design-mycnc2-jpg

As for the electronics I'm not sure what the best would be:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/USA-Stock-4...itleDesc=0%7C0

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Gecko-G540-...sAAOSwK5tans6P

I'm new to all this some I'm not even sure what I need as far as electronics.

Software wise, I do know that I need a CAD program to design, then a CAM program which I believe is an add on to the CAD software, and Mach3 which will send the info from CAM to the machine.

I also ran across the Ethernet SmoothStepper.

From what I understand, one of things it does is it enable you to use 64bit OS instead of using the parallel port which are limited to 32bit OS.

Anyway, just wanted opinions on the design and suggestions.

Thanks,
    dinky,

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Need Help with My Design

1) Use 2010 ballscrews instead of 1605.

2) Keep the gantry sides wider at the top. If needed, let them extend back. Cutting them down to the width of the extrusion just makes them weaker.

3) Forget about Mach3, it's already been obsolete and abandoned for a few years now. Look at UCCNC. Better performance, less expensive, and actively being developed.

I'd probably lean towards the G540. If you have a bigger budget, consider higher end single drives, which will give better performance.

Gerry