New Member and Recommendations.

Thread: New Member and Recommendations.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default New Member and Recommendations.

Hello all, new here but have been interested in building my own cnc router table for quite sometime now. I have built numerous 3d printers an would like to move up to wood and metal cnc. I'm a computer programmer with 20 years of experience so if I can help anyone in that respect don't hesitate to ask.

To my questions, first off is there a Particular build that most would recommend as a great first build? Also I would love to build something that can handle wood and metal as I will eventually build something for metal also and if I can. Limit that to one device which maybe a tool change between the two materials would be awesome.

As for size, I really need to be able to do small and big. For the wood I will be using it alot to carve out retroarcade cabinets and of course for metal would be used to produce other parts for various projects.

Also how far fetched is a DIY VMC? Even going the DIY route will the cost still be fairly substantial? Thanks for any advice and sorry for the super newbie questions but wanna make sure I have a solid plan and it will do what I want before starting this build.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: New Member and Recommendations.

First, specify what "metals" you plan on cutting. If you are considering any type of steel, forget it.

Exactly how big are you looking at? And what is your budget?

Cost is roughly proportional to the performance you'll get. Inexpensive machines will cut slower, at shallower depths, and with a poorer cut quality.

There aren't really many good plans available. Most scratch builders just study other's builds, and come up with their own designs. A CNC router isn't really all that complicated, so all machines are somewhat similar to one another.