Newbie Looking at building a CNC - What will this machine not do?

Thread: Looking at building a CNC - What will this machine not do?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Looking at building a CNC - What will this machine not do?

Hi all!

Being new to CNC there is a lot that i don't know so I was hoping to mine some of the amazing knowledge here. I am looking at making the machine in this link, but it seems a lot cheaper then other CNC routers that I have been reading about, so I was wondering what will be my limitations of using a design like this? I read about how stiffness is important, and squareness, but as I have no experience i don't know what to look for.

I plan to mainly work in wood, may put a laser on it for some acrylic or this mdf (and maybe even a 3d print head(??)) but as we all know plans can change quickly enough which is why i thought that if i could get told what it can't do, it will help me decide if it has enough flexibility. Also as I build are there thinks to look out for?

I was thinking on changing the z axis to a leadscrew, and upgrading the motors in x and y to NEMA 23s and eventually replacing the belts on x & y with leadscrews to help make it a bit more accurate/reduce the play in case you were wondering.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Similar Threads:

Default Re: Looking at building a CNC - What will this machine not do?

Well...it looks a lot like the Shapeoko2 that I had and what it won't do is be rigid. There's an awful lot of flex in those aluminum extrusion, plastic V wheel systems. It'll be great for a laser, and if you keep your cutting loads light, it'll do ok with a spindle such as the one in the picture. If you intend to replace the belts with screws, you might as well build a new machine from scratch with low profile rails instead of the plastic Vwheels IMHO. I have seen the Vwheels break.

No need to replace the motors IMHO. I doubt they'll be the limiting factor. Your spindle power, and frame rigidity will.