Best components?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best components?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Best components?

Noob to CNCZone but not to the CNC world. Let me preface my question with a little about me. I am a licensed aircraft mechanic and also spent a number of years as field tech for a (unnamed) CNC manufacturer. So, I am already familiar to with design and functionality of CNCs but was limited to one manufacturer. I'm looking to broaden my ideas...

I am mostly familiar with NSK and Rexroth, everything else was proprietary to the manufacturer including motors, drives, VFDs and controllers.

Anyway, I am finally in a position to build a machine the way I want. I was wondering what everyone's thoughts were about the best components for a home build; best overall and best bag-for-the-buck. Looking for everything from drives to motors to ballscrews to ways...

TIA - I look forward to everyone's thoughts and experiences

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Best components?

For linear rails, any of the major manufacturers are probably comparable. THK, NSK, Rexroth, Star. Most people use Hiwin, because they can be a lot cheaper, and are more readily available.

The same manufacturers also make ballscrews. But most people use cheap chinese screws, entirely because of the cost of high quality new ballscrews.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Downloads
    Uploads

Before you can get detailed answers, it would help to have details about your expectations and the machines size. These two things size and expectations really drive what you should build including the components selected.