Newbie Using iron angle bar as rail

Thread: Using iron angle bar as rail

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Using iron angle bar as rail

Hello, newbie here want to make a personal project using GRBL. This is my first project on CNC and would like advice from you guys if is it ok to use angle bar with 3/8 v groove bearing as rail for x and y axis. Googled v groove with angle bar rail, but no luck.

Thanks..

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Using iron angle bar as rail

Quote Originally Posted by alixson View Post
    Hello, newbie here want to make a personal project using GRBL. This is my first project on CNC and would like advice from you guys if is it ok to use angle bar with 3/8 v groove bearing as rail for x and y axis. Googled v groove with angle bar rail, but no luck.

Thanks..
    Hey Alison, I just asked something similar in another thread. Feedback I got so far is that v groove on angled bar isn't as good as there's too much play possible and alignment is more difficult. Just to be clear when I say angle bars I mean 45 degrees profiles, is that what you meant?

Sent from my Moto E (4) using Tapatalk

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Yes. 45 degrees profile. Any suggestion for rail? bcos i've already ordered 3/8 v-groove bearing.

Downloads
    Uploads

You'll find plenty of people that will tell you not to, but you'll also find many people that have done it.
    Your first machine will be a learning experience. Build it, and see how it works for you.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads