Design phase question -- Clearpath SDSK + Acorn

Thread: Design phase question -- Clearpath SDSK + Acorn

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Design phase question -- Clearpath SDSK + Acorn

Hi everyone, I've been lurking for a few months on the Forum and have found it incredibly valuable. I'm about to build my first CNC machine and was hoping to get some advice/opinions regarding motor control. First a bit about me and then a bit about my machine.

I'm an amateur luthier with 20+ years of hobby experience who is turning pro when I retire in a few years. Even as a pro, I will remain a low volume producer (15 to 25 unit per year). I work mostly in wood, but also build tools and fixtures in Aluminum. My necks and bodies require 3D organic surfaces. I've been using a CNC machine (ShopBot) for a few years at the local TechShop, but I now want to own one (for a lot of reasons). I've got an engineering and computer science background and I'm reasonably comfortable with electronics. I'm willing to spend a bit of time building from kits, but anything more than 40 +/- hours assembling a control system gets to be a bit too much.

At first, I was planning to order the CNC Router Parts Pro4848 with the plug-n-play NEMA 23 control system and the plug-n-play spindle. But I've been reading a lot about the Clearpath SDSKs. I'm entertaining the idea of SDSKs, Centroid Acorn Control kit, the CNCPro Pro4848 and the CNCRP Plug-n-Play spindle. But its turning into a real budget-buster. The SDSKs + Acorn + Centroid power supplies + NEMA enclosure + misc supplies is ~$3000 vs $1549 for the CNCRP plug-n-play motor control + $175 for Mach3.