Need Help! Help with a new build

Thread: Help with a new build

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Help with a new build

Hello everybody,

I'm looking for help with choosing the right size motors. I am completely new at this and trying to assemble my first diy cnc. I have finished the frame and now comes the hard part.

Im building cnc out of mdf and plywood mostly. Work area is approximately 24x48. Z axis is 1605 ball screw 500mm long and 20mm rails. Y axis is 2010 ball screw, it is 1000mm long and 20mm rails. X axis is 2010 ball screw on both sides 1600mm long and 20mm rails.

The Y axis gantry with Z motor and railing is going to be approximately 100 pounds heavy and will be split between two motors, so about 50 pounds each. Z axis is going to be approximately 30 pounds

I'm going to be using MACH4 and ESS/MB3 combo

For my Z axis im considering this motor with a brake
    https://www.omc-stepperonline.com/cl...5BNema%2023%5D
    It is 1.8 inductance and brake is included. From reading online, brake is something i should have so my z does not drop when i turn my machine off. Is this something I should consider or it is not needed? I can get a better motor for less money.

For my two Y axis motors I am considering these motors
    ?https://www.omc-stepperonline.com/cl...5BNema%2034%5D
    It is 2.8 inductance. I don't anticipate spinning this 2 ball screws (2010-1600MM) more than 1000 rpm for rapids

For my X axis I am considering same motor that I am using for Y
    I don't anticipate spinning this ballscrew (2010-1000mm) more than 1000 rpm for rapids

I will be mostly milling hardwoods to start but would like to be able to mill aluminum. I'm not looking to drive this thing 100mph but would not want this thing to be too slow and not have enough torque.

Do these motors seem ok? and how do i pair MOTOR with DRIVER with POWER SUPPLY?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Darko

Similar Threads: