New Machine Build Budget 5'x10' 3axis router for wood/soft metals.

Thread: Budget 5'x10' 3axis router for wood/soft metals.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Budget 5'x10' 3axis router for wood/soft metals.

Hi everyone, I am about to get started with this build but I would like to get anyone's opinions on my so call "plan" for this build.

To start off, I am a electrical engineer working a desk job and I have been researching how to build a cnc machine for awhile, having access to Autodesk inventor 2015 CAM software, all axis's are available to me to generate gcode for. But knowing that I need to walk before I can run, lets start with a 3 axis machine. a 5' by 10' machine. (who says you have to learn to walk slow? )

I am not really going off of a design plan, since trying that and modelling everything has gotten me through 3 totally different designed that i still was not confident in easy or rigid the machine will be.
    Going for broke, i plan on spending close to $3500 USD on this machine. I have had good luck with Aliexpress in the past for linear parts so ill be using them as well as ebay supplies for building this machine.

The frame was made using Superstruts at home depot. And now before you go off about how there is twist and flex with using these, I will be trying to correct for that during this build to ensure its a strong enough frame.

Cost of the metal so far to build was under $350 USD, including all the brackets and bolts/nuts. Had to go to 3 home depots to get all the brackets....
    I am doing my best to keep them accurate to the lengths I need. using a jig holding the steel while cutting and then angle griding the final dimensions.
    Since this is all bolt together, i figured it would be easy to make any adjustments down the road should i need further alignment.
    I am going to be adding some further reinforcement (tack welds or more brackets/steel) to this as the 3 walled box frame doesn't hold its endpoints that well.